Hamburg Picture Book Prize

The Hamburger Bilderbuchpreis (Hamburg Picture Book Prize) is awarded every two years by the Verein Neues Bilderbuch

The prize honours as-yet unpublished contemporary picture book ideas. The prize money is €12,000.
The Verein Neues Bilderbuch awards the prize in order to promote illustrators who impress with their artistic attitudes, and who convey commendable impulses for picture book art.

The independent jury comprises renowned picture book experts and representatives of our partners from the illustrators’ organisation IO, from the publishing house that will be publishing the books, and from the Kinderbuchhaus (House of Children’s Books) at the Altona Museum. The jury is chaired by the artistic director of the Verein Neues Bilderbuch.

The work awarded the 2023 Hamburger Bilderbuchpreis will be published by  Carlsen Verlag.

JURY 2023

Dieter Böge, Bilderbuchautor, Verein Neues Bilderbuch
Hans ten Doornkaat, Publizist, Kurator und Bilderbuchkritiker 
Cornelia Funke, Geschichtenerzählerin und Illustratorin
Marlen Bialek, Lektorin, Programmleitung Bilderbuch, Carlsen Verlag
Dr. Dagmar Gausmann, Leiterin des Kinderbuchhauses in Hamburg
Prof. Yirmi Pinkus, Illustrator und Schriftsteller, Shenkar College of Art and Design
Annika Siems, Illustratorin, Programmleitung Minedition, Illustratoren Organisation IO

The NEUES BILDERBUCH association would like to thank the jury and all participants in the competition. We would like to thank the Senator for Culture of the City of Hamburg for his patronage this year and look forward to the HAMBURGER BILDERBUCHPREIS 2025!

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner